What you see above looks like a textbook pass interference penalty. Patriots cornerback Jonathan Jones pretty clearly hooked the arm of Giants wideout Golden Tate before the ball arrived. No flag was thrown. Yet even after Giants head coach Pat Shurmur challenged the non-callâas the rules permit coaches to do this yearâthe call on the field stood. In fact, most of this seasonâs pass interference challenges have been upheld, even when a review seems to indicate the call or non-call should have been overturned. The rule change was always bound to create lots of confusion. Buy why, after further review, are seemingly obvious calls not being reversed?
Santiago Leon is the Head of the Sports Cast. He covers almost every sport: College Football, NFL, Premier League, NBA, MLS, and maybe some college basketball. Founder of sleon productions, he specializes in technology and serves clients with solutions to make their business grow.