Novak Djokovic, the men’s world No. 1, was removed from competition at the U.S. Open on Sunday after he accidentally struck a judge with a ball.
He was playing against Pablo Carreno Busta at Arthur Ashe Stadium and had just lost a game in the first set, according to the Associated Press. As he walked to the sideline, he hit a ball toward the backline, which ultimately struck a line judge.
According to the announcers, the ball struck the line judge in the throat, causing her to drop to her feet.
After discussing the matter with other judges after the foul, Djokovic moved to shake his opponent’s hand and the chair umpire announced the default.
Novak Djokovic, the No. 1 seed in the men’s draw, was disqualified from the U.S. Open after accidentally striking a lineswoman with a ball hit in frustration. https://t.co/ecmAMI2Gmd
— The New York Times (@nytimes) September 6, 2020
Novak Djokovic has been defaulted from the U.S. Open after hitting a line judge with a ball pic.twitter.com/ByKxKjXG28
— Bleacher Report (@BleacherReport) September 6, 2020